Oban Baptist Church

Spiritual - Relational - Generational

The Leadership Team

Ministry Team

Lawson Family Smart

Stuart Lawson:  Stuart completed his Honours Degree in Teaching in 2002, and subsequently worked in education in Scotland and Malawi.  He also spent five years working in an Independent church in Stirling, as a Worship Leader.   In October of 2016, Stuart took on the lead role at Oban Baptist Church, and he has recently completed his Theological Studies via Distance Learning from Spurgeons College.  Stuart loves God's Word, loves the gathering of God's people, and enjoys music, football and quality time with family.  He is passionate about Biblical transformation, and his heart is to champion Oban Baptist Church as a loving community, actively engaged in the community.  He's joined on the adventure by Helen, who runs the church's Toddlers Group and helps lead the Junior Church, and their two beautiful daughters.


Ian McFarlane: Ian served as Lead Minister at Oban Baptist Church for four years, and his wisdom, energy and experience by God's Spirit have blessed and transformed the congregation.  In October of 2016, he handed over the reigns to Stuart but remains an integral part of the team, operating as a Spiritual Mentor to Stuart as well as continuing to offer his God-given gifts to the local church, community and beyond.  

The Deacons of Oban Baptist Church - Ministry Champions

OBC has a group of dedicated men and women who form an essential part of the Leadership Team.  They contribute to the oversight of the church, and each deacon operates, in a servant leader capacity, as a Ministry Champion, where they offer support to their specific ministry area whilst championing the common voice of the Word of God and the Baptist Union's Declaration of Principle.    

Prayer Champion: Ian McFarlane

Worship Champion: Stuart Lawson

Hospitality Champion: Beryl Carmichael

House Groups Champion: Stuart Chalmers

Junior Church/Youth Champion: Catriona Petit

Mission Champion: Mary Black

Admin Champion: Sue Hamilton

Finance Champion: Linda Hill

Pastoral Care Champion: Stuart Lawson